Baseball's Triple Crown

They say that good things come in threes. That's true in professional baseball, especially when it comes to the Triple Crown. Winning the Triple Crown is one of the most prestigious accomplishments in all of sports. It's also one of the rarest.

What is the Triple Crown?: In pro baseball, the Triple Crown means that one player leads the league in home runs, RBIs and batting average in the same season. This is very difficult because it involves a number of different skills. Often, players who hit a lot of home runs don't necessarily hit for a high average and vice versa. In order to win the Triple Crown, a player has to be a great all-around hitter.

Past Winners: Since 1900, the Triple Crown has been achieved only 13 times. Only two players have ever won two Triple Crowns: Ted Williams in 1942 and 1947 and Rogers Hornsby in 1922 and 1925. Many of the greatest players in baseball history have never won it. No player has won the Triple Crown since 1967, when Carl Yastrzemski did it in the American League for the Boston Red Sox. In the National League, no one has won the Triple Crown since Joe "Ducky" Medwick in 1937.

Who's Next?: As this pro baseball season rolls along, more and more fans and reporters are starting to talk about the Triple Crown. Why? Albert Pujols. As a first baseman for the St. Louis Cardinals, the same team that Medwick played for in the 1930s, Pujols currently leads the National League in home runs and RBIs and is second in batting average. Pujols is flirting with the Triple Crown, the first time in many years that a player has come this close to it, this late in the season. Fans are starting to get excited that they will be able to see something that hasn't been accomplished in over 40 years.

Got a baseball question? Ask it here and your question may be answered on the site!
First Name:
Thanks for asking a question! Your question has been sent.

Do you want to ask another question?